The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: Douglas Adams

My guilty pleasure has to be science fiction. By science fiction I more specifically mean alternate universes. Think Terry Pratchett’s Discworld.

Yet, it is only now that I have got around to reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I tried once when I was a lot longer but I just could not get into it. My Dad was the one who got me interested in Pratchett and he quite likes Hitchhiker’s Guide so I thought it was probably about time to read this. I definitely need a new book series to get into.

If you have never heard of this I am, quite frankly, surprised. When this book was first published in 1979, it was an instant bestseller in the UK. It has sold over fifteen million books in the UK, the US and Australia. It is loved by millions across the globe, and has developed a cult following.

Arthur Dent is a normal guy, on a normal Thursday, trying to prevent the demolition of his house for a new bypass. Little does he know, he should actually be concerned with another demolition that is about to occur…after the destruction of Earth, Dent may be the last human alive. Trapped with his friend Ford Prefect, who he now discovers to be an alien, on board of a Vogon demolition ship, his only comfort being the words ‘DON’T PANIC’ inscribed in friendly letters on the Hitchhiker’s Guide – a travel guide for the professional space hitchhiker. Now he must chase the meaning of life across the galaxy with a disgraced president and the cute girl from a party in Islington.

This is a classic example of the English humour I love – dry, sarcastic and brimming with underdogs in hilarious scrapes. The attention to detail creates a rich story, my particular favourites were the Babel Fish (they sit inside your ear canal and absorb brain energy aimed towards the host, spitting it back out as translated language) and Dent’s various attempts to teach the Nutri-Matic drinks machine how to make a cup of tea. My only complaint is that this book is evidently a ‘set-up’ book for the rest of the series. Not that much seems to occur, which is a tad annoying. Yet I will probably definitely read the other four in the series. Watch this space.

I would recommend this to any lovers of science fiction or that strange British witty charm.

Leave a Reply

