Yes Please: Amy Poehler

In my Christmas Wishlist I made a reference to wanting to read Yes Please for a while. Well, I finally got out there and bought it! I was having a bad day and decided a little online retail therapy could not hurt. Plus, I needed some of Amy’s positive thinking (yes, we’re best friends now – I get weird when I’m reading auto-biographies).

I am new to Poehler’s work. A couple of friends of mine made the mistake of suggesting that I should watch Parks and Rec and it all kind of snowballed (currently in mourning for the end of the series). I found her writing style to be bright, amusing and light – an excellent book to take on holiday, as I took it to Budapest a few weeks ago. She is someone who I find genuinely funny and inspiring.

When I write these reviews I check out some of what others have written in response to better formulate my own ideas. In one Guardian review I found the reviewer made the point that this is not an actual book, as it does not form a conventional narrative and can at times seem cluttered. The author then went on to say some other not very nice things about its lack of intellectual substance, which I shall ignore whilst knowing that they are right. But I did not choose to buy this book for its intellectual musings. I enjoyed its mismatch of poems, lists and childhood memories. As a ‘book’, this one should definitely be described as cute.

Yes Please often takes the guise of an almost self-help book. As a person who does not read self-help books I found this a little bizarre and at times too sugary for my tastes, yet also comforting. I am unsure if this is just a style of auto-biography that has not made it over to the UK yet, so I shall conduct some more research at some point, perhaps by looking at books by Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling. One thing that did strike me was that through this method of writing and through the telling of her stories Poehler appears to write on a personal level, while remaining impersonal. It is an honest account, yet not a very deep one.

My favourite part of this book is Poehler’s insistence on not glossing over her experiences, to emphasise hard work and strength, something that I found very refreshing. I would probably recommend this book to a friend, again as a holiday read or as a breather from studying.

 

2 thoughts on “Yes Please: Amy Poehler

  1. Pingback: Holiday Reads: South East Asia – old book smells

  2. Pingback: So, Anyway…: John Cleese – old book smells

Leave a Reply

