Forensics – The Anatomy of Crime: Val McDermid

This is another catch-up post of mine. I read this book whilst I was at home, visiting my parents. I wanted something that I felt that I could learn from, and being a history student, forensic science sounded like a good choice. Val McDermid is a Scottish crime writer with three successful series of crime novels and over thirty years’ of experience in research and writing.

I’ve been trying to write this post for several days now. I just can’t put my finger on what I should write. I can’t fault McDermid’s work in any way; it’s easy to read whilst also remaining factual. Each chapter deals with a different part of crime direction – specific topics include toxicology, entomology, blood spatter and digital forensics. I haven’t studied any science type things in about a year,but found all of this easy to understand. Or that may just be due to my obsession with CSI.

I have no negative things to say about this book. Being non-fiction, it just gave me neutral feels. I would recommend reading if you are looking for something informative and historic.

Leave a Reply

